top of page

Sound Homework - Blue Velvet

In order to see the importance of music in film openings, I had the homework of adding different types of songs on the same opening and understanding the effect

I chose the beginning of Blue Velvet, directed by David Lynch, because I found it very complex and dependent on the song that is originally played throughout the first few minutes of the movie, called "Blue Velvet" by Bobby Vinton.

The first song I added was a Nocturne by classical compositor Chopin. Together with the images it gave the whole extract a calm and serene feeling. I matched the crescendo of the melody with the death of the character in order to create the dramatic effect.

The next melody was a more up-beat, blues song sung James Brown. At first, it suits the images shown in the movie but then -t created a contrapuntal feeling when the character has the heart attack while the joyful music keeps playing.

The third song I chose was "Another One Bites the Dust" by rock band Queen. This also had a similar effect, making the action in the film seem slightly funny and ironic, even if it was quite somber.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page