top of page

CCR - question 3

How do your products engage with the audience and how would they be distributed as real media products?

“Iridescent” engages the audience in a rather unique way. The targeted groups are absorbed into the unusual atmosphere created by the characters, location and music. Because of the representations that are substantially different, the audience is urged to understand what they see with new eyes, with higher awareness. This creates a dialogue between the characters and the audience, a way of welcoming them to the group, they are invited to join the party and feel what the characters feel.

The most obvious example of the relationship built between the characters and the audience is the moment Aletta looks directly into the camera. Her eyes convey feelings of awe and fear, she is asking for help by looking at those that are watching her. This moment also grabs the attention of the audience as a way of preparing them for what is to come, a change in space and narrative.

A less direct address is the scene in the small room where all the friends talk. I saw this as a general way of involving the audience, bringing them in the middle of the group, surrounding them by the feeling of love, unity and friendship. I emphasised this by contrasting the way I filmed this scene and the way the living room is filmed. The wide lock down shot of the living room is removed, far away, observing. This introduced the setting and kept the audience at some distance from the characters, allowing them to analyse. The images then get closer to the characters, introducing them in a way, followed by the close ups in the much smaller space of the bedroom. Here the audience is fully immersed in their conversation. However, what they say is less important that what they transmit, this is why I allowed my friends to speak in Romanian. Being more natural and spontaneous, they created the beautiful atmosphere that is then passed on to the audience.

Furthermore, the direct address of the poem is also meant to ad to the personal dimension of the film. Aletta seems to be talking to the audience and when Nora answers the same feeling is continued. The audience is part of their conversation, not just observers. This makes the audience relate to Aletta and wish to help her, they are relieved to see that Nora answers back.

The website I created for “Iridescent” engages audiences with the same aim of getting them closer to the experiences of the characters. The page heading “feel what I feel” invites them closer to Aletta. The way the main cast is presented is also a way of showing that they are real people, with real qualities and personalities. Also, the postcard shows a close up of Aletta’s face, a personal way of presenting her and the film. Her first line, presented above the title, invites the audience to find out more about her story.

Distributing the film, the postcard and the website as real media texts is not difficult. I’ve already taken some steps towards promoting my work. I shared the link and the front of the postcard as a poster on my private Facebook account. Two of my friends have also shared it. I promoted the film on my Instagram account and I’ve applied to a local competition, Transylvania International FIlm Festival. I sent the five minute version of the film through their website, including some details. Festivals such as this would be the best way of distributing a short, indie film, the first created by a specific director. Social media is another great medium of spreading and promoting work. Therefore, I’ve used both these methods. I could also organise small screenings in rented venues and create events on Facebook to invite people. The postcard could be printed either in a small format as it was designed, or as posters that I could make public around town or in different locations. Sharing my work with as many people, in as many ways is the best method of distributing these media texts. This can help find sponsors for future projects and receive critical feedback and remarks from different sources in order to improve my work.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page