top of page

First Version - Demure


This is the first complete version of Demure, with music, voice, editing, color correction and text. Tea and I used a 30 day trial of Adobe Premiere to complete our film opening task.

For music, we used a segment of "Do you know where I should go" form Cigarettes After Sex, which consisted of distant bongs and various sounds that could fill the background. Also, for the main soundtrack, we chose a part from David Lynch's "The air is on fire" album, this strange and dark music helps create tension in a very suited way for the film. I worked a lot on synchronizing the sound of the bongs with certain cuts in the movie, and the key moments of the dreams with the a loud sound from "The air is on fire".

For the beginning sequence where Fele talks into the camera, Tea and I recorded his voice separately, using an iPhone. Then I did the layover with the image. This was quite difficult because I had to cut each small phrase or word and fit it to the movement of his lips and face.

Editing was probably most time consuming of the whole process. Tea and I decided together where we would have jump cuts, which helped us a lot to fit in the 2 minute time restriction, and which shots and angles to use. Then, we worked in shifts to put everything together.

After all these were done, I started to play with color correction. At first I didn't know how to use all the effects and levels, but after a bit of practice I managed to change the color a bit and make it darker.

The last thing I worked on was the text, most of the names are made up, except for Tea's, Fele's and mine. I wanted to use a small font and lower case letters for the names, so that the writing doesn't stand out too much and the audience can focus on the complexity of the action. Also, because the general aspect is darker I had to use lighter colors for the text to create greater contrast.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page