top of page

Inspiration - Short Films

These are five short films that I saw and really stuck with me. Two are made at the very beginning of the film making years, "Un Chien Andalou" and "Meshes of the Afternoon". They are more experimental and they use symbols to show a story in a short period of time. It was a lot more difficult to make a full feature film then, they are also silent, with original music scores.

I found "The Big Shave" very different, because it shows a mundane action, giving it an unexpected twist. I think that this is an easy idea that can keep the audience engaged. Here, no dialogue is needed, and the music creates the atmosphere of the film.

The third film in this list, "Removed", depicts a more modern story, about child abuse and foster care. I believe it is done so that the images and the music convey all the emotions of the story in a powerful way. Here the music adds to the impact of the words, while in the other shorts the music was the only medium of transmitting emotion.

The last short film I added here is a more artistic documentation on an issues that affects Romania. It is meant to send a message and raise awareness through the story that it shows.

I plan on using some of the ideas found in these short films and more. I will use both dialogue and music to express the atmosphere and the feelings present in the film. I will use simple ideas for the plot but ad some unexpected twists that will make the audience intrigued. The one thing that isn't present in any of the examples I gave are special effects or light effects. I want to use those to create a more artistic film that will also be beautiful and aesthetic.

Un Chien Andalou (1929) Luis Bunuel, Salvador Dali

Meshes of the Afternoon (1943) Maya Deren

The Big Shave (1967) Martin Scorsese

Removed (2013) Nathanael Matanick

Way of the Danube (2013) Sabin Dorohoi (Calea Dunarii)

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page