top of page

Preliminary Task - dialogue scene

I thought that I should practice filming and editing dialogue scenes, as I have never used them in my previous work. So as one preliminary project I will use some writing ideas I've had and that I will create, to make a simple dialogue, that sends a message. I thought about using the filming techniques that appear so often in the drama TV series "Mr. Robot". These include the quadrant rule, which will allow me to also focus on the background and the aesthetics of where I choose to film this dialogue scene.

I could make this scene into a short film by adding a twist in the end of the dialogue. An idea derived from "Mr. Robot" would be to show that one of the characters involved in the dialogue was not real, that he/she was simply in the imagination of the other character, and that all along he was talking to himself.

This is a short clip of strong pieces of dialogue from the series, most of which Elliot has with himself.

This is a scene from "Mr. Robot" that exemplifies the quadrant rule and how it can be used in a dialogue scene. It also uses a slow zoom on the character that has the monologue, to keep the focus on what he is saying about power. Throughout the zoom, he reamains in the bottom left corner of the iamge.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page