top of page

THOUGHT - description

I created this short dialogue scene as practice, both for editing and using effects and for creating a conversation sequence. I began by shooting some short videos, mostly static, creating aesthetic compositions. Then I filmed several shots of my boyfriend and I having a brief conversation on a subject that came into my mind when I wrote the script. We made it shorter and improvised a bit to be more efficient and natural. I took separate shots of each of us using the quadrant rule, and a mid shot and a long shot of both of us. The quadrant rule gives a sense of separation so I used it when we were presenting our different views. The other shots are used both as establishing shots and to show us together in the before and after the dialogue.

Using adobe premiere pro on my new laptop I managed to use a lot more effects and play with ideas. I watched YouTube tutorials to learn how to create overlays and text effects. I used an image of an iron background and the Track Matte Key effect to give texture to the text. For overlays I decreased the opacity of the second video but I also chose the Darken Image preset. I used various transitions for sound and video and I cut the song and the images to create the most suited correlation. For example, the moment he looks up the music stops, as if those were his thoughts and he was distracted by the passing train.

I did not use any color correction because I was happy with the way the image looked as I was lucky to film on a day with a beautiful sunset. I filmed the dialogue on a different day but the light was perfect as well.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page