top of page

MoodBoard

Creating this mood board has helped a lot in putting my ideas and thoughts together about the short film and what I want to present.

With this short film I would like to start creating my personal style, putting together a hybrid genre that includes all my ideas, and presents the themes and thoughts that I believe to be honest and important. It is difficult to identify these genres, but I might include psychedelic horror, teenage drama and surreal images. One of the themes I plan to include will be the importance of friendships and relationships, people go through difficult moments when they believe they are alone. In the past few years I found that my friends are incredibly important to me, they are the ones who have the same experiences as me, and understand me.

I plan to show the way a female character's friends help her get through a hard moment. I will show this in a symbolic way, not clearly, but through a series of images that will suggest this in a surreal, psychedelic way.

The mood board I created is made up of images I took of my friends over the past few months, these were mostly my source of inspiration. I used a psychedelic image as background and the eraser tool in Photoshop to blend my ages over it. I placed them in a aesthetic way and created the first ideas for my short film.

My ideas do not fit or correlate to any of my previous research closely, the short films that I studied are more of a basis for understanding conventions. However, for my actual style and ideas I turned more to unique and original ideas of auteurs. I drew my inspiration from directors such as David Lynch, whom I studied extensively last year, and from works such as Gaspar Noe's "Enter the Void" and Terry Gilliam's "Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas". Their unconventional films, filled with effects, create unique and specific atmospheres that draw the audiences into the story. This is what I wish to accomplish through my own style.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page