top of page

Color correction and title

COLOR:

I worked for a couple of weeks on the colors, light effects and title graphics. The effects I used were RGB color correction, luma correction, channel blur, and track matte key for the text (which I learned to use when I created my preliminary dialogue video).

For the very beginning of the film I kept a natural to green aspect with a few exceptions, where I used purple and green to work with the artistic part of the film.

I played with the red gamma and blue gamma to make the part in the living room and in George's room look more cinematic and uniform. If any shot was too dark, I tried to correct that using brightness and contrast levels.

For the party scene, I added the channel blur effect on some other shots. For a specific part, where Aletta stands up, I progressively made the image greener and greener. Also, I blended the overlay with Aletta's face better by blurring the blue in the shot.

For the forest scene, I made the image darker, and added more contrast for a more dramatic effects. But I did not change the red hues to keep the redness of her face, and make her seem more innocent and not too dark. I also kept the strong light from the sun, contrasting the sky and the earth, the light of the field, and the dark of the forest which represents the next, deeper level of Aletta's consciousness.

For the final scene, I used minimal color correction, leaving the dark and bleak atmosphere.

TITLE:

When thinking about the title, I knew that I was already familiar with the track matte key effect, but that I hadn't used videos. I only used a simple image to create the fill of the text. Therefore, I searched for an "iridescent" video, made up of psychedelic graphics. I cut several parts of these images and placed them behind the text. For this, I had to find a large, bold font so that the patterns can be seen through the words. This is also why I wrote everything in capital letters. I then used the cross fade effect on the video with patterns and colors to make the text fade in and fade out.

In the credits I included the names of all my friends that participated in any way, either by appearing in the footage, providing or holing lights, or providing the locations where we filmed.

I also added the names of the three songs that I used.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page