top of page

IRIDESCENT - version 2


After receiving more feedback from different people, I changed some minor things and exported the final version (10 minutes long).

I tried to show the film to as many people as possible, friends, teachers and colleagues. Based on their suggestions, I changed some sound effects, making the transition right after the first drop more smooth. The song sounds further away and muffled when Aletta wakes up in the forest. I used some sound effects on the words spoken by the girls too, reverb and phaser. However, my teacher suggested that I should not exaggerate with these sound alterations.

I also recorded the poem that I wrote with Maria (credited in the film for text), both with Aletta and Nora. I used my phone to record both of the girls several times, trying out different intonations. Aletta has a more somber voice and an american accent, while Nora is more childish and hopeful. They represent perfectly the relationship between the characters. When overlapping the words with the images, I changed my mind about the specific times where I would place them, I tried out different moments until I thought everything fit best. The initial times that I wrote in a previous post were too spread out.

Again, after showing the film to different people, I decided that the words spoken by the girls should be subtitled as they are very relevant to the story, as more people siad it was difficult for them to follow what the girls said. Therefor, I added simple, lowercase subtitles. I wanted the words to blend with the images and not seem like actual subtitles, but more like thoughts. So I lowered the opacity and placed them in different spots on the screen. I also used them to attract attention to certain parts of the screen. For example, where Aletta was sitting or standing when she spoke, and between the two girls when Nora answered her.

Bellow I added some screenshots that I took while working on these last changes and adjustments.

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page