top of page

MUSIC

One of the teachers at my school, an art teacher, gave me feedback about my film that made me think some more about the choices I made about music in this short film. She suggested that I shouldn't have built the action on the music so much, as it resembles a music video more than it presents the narrative of a story.

She might be right, I used little dialogue and I focused on conveying the message that I constructed through images and sound. The music is such an important element in this short film because I always new, even if I wasn't completely aware, that the soundtrack of any film is just as powerful as the images or the words. I always listened to the music in films, and appreciated it.

Therefore, I think this is why "Iridescent" came to be based so much on music. It was not an exact or conscious decision but I knew that it would have a huge impact. And as my love of electronic music developed in the past months, I wanted to include that specific psy-trance song, and the segment with the piano in the beginning.

Music has always told a story and it always had the power to make people feel certain emotions. I've known this to be true for a very long time, and through this project I understood and realized that this is what I want to do in my films. I said at the beginning of this school year that I want to discover my style... and I think that not many films are created and built on electronic music.

I hope that one day I will get to work with one of my music-loving friends on composing and writing the soundtracks for my films. I want to create worlds and personalities through images and sound. Words can be so redundant sometimes, I did not include a lot of dialogue in "Iridescent" because it wasn't needed.

This summer, my friends and I signed up as volunteers at a music festival, a psy-trance festival on the beach. My love of music made me very enthusiastic about this idea and the night I applied I got a call from the coordinator. She liked my application and she called to ask me in what department I would like to work. I said that I would love to take photos and film, document the festival. She asked for some of my previous works and I sent her "Iridescent", she was so amazed by my project that she told me immediately that I was accepted as a volunteer. Over the next few weeks, she named me the coordinator of the group of volunteers from my city, as most of them were my friends.

(this is the festival website: https://dakinifestival.com/ )

RECENT POSTS
SEARCH BY TAGS
No tags yet.
ARCHIVE
bottom of page